Rogues & Vagabonds

theatre, film & tv past and present 2001-2008 & 2013…

‘Trump’s so angry at theatre, he’s gonna…’

logorogues

Trump’s so angry at theatre, he’s gonna try to build a fourth wall.

— Jeeves Williams (@jeeveswilliams)November 19, 2016

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

10 comments on “‘Trump’s so angry at theatre, he’s gonna…’

  1. ksbeth
    11/20/2016

    perfect )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Adrienne Morris
    11/20/2016

    I do think that when you pay thousands of dollars to see a play (my daughter’s ticket for Hamilton cost $3000!) it shouldn’t be interrupted by temper tantrums about an election. It’s childish to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • First Night Design
      11/20/2016

      But it wasn’t an interruption or a temper tantrum but a speech at the curtain call. And it was the audience who racked up the tension by vocalising their feelings about Pence. Rightly or wrongly, I suspect it was inevitable and we’ll see more of it in all manner of circumstances, not just theatres, in the months to come.

      Like

      • Adrienne Morris
        11/20/2016

        I’m a political junkie so I get the passion, but I also grew up in the NYC area and went to school in the city (in the arts program at NYU). Donald Trump was celebrated by most people I knew as a brash and generous NY character. I think the media has done a great job fanning the flames on this one. I wouldn’t mind if the people who were against Trump’s policies or intemperate comments also equally vented against Hillary’s insane policies in Libya, her abusive treatment of women and her obvious corruption and possible ties to a pedophile ring (see wikileaks). her degree of hubris and dishonest boggles the mind but because she’s a woman she somehow gets a pass?

        The hypocrisy is epic. I still think a political speech at curtain call with the VP’s children in attendance is an interruption of a entertainment event that speaks to a lack of manners.

        Throughout the election the press kept insisting Trump supporters would behave badly after the election if he lost. We now see the opposite thing happening so there’s definitely a lack of moral high ground.

        Like

        • First Night Design
          11/20/2016

          I will come back to you on this as my brain is mashed and my eyes very dodgy today!

          Like

        • First Night Design
          11/22/2016

          I would say from what I’ve seen and heard that the protestations against both candidates, before and after the election, have been on a par. Neither have much to recommend them. Curtain speeches have long been used to make points, whether related to theatre or not and if an actor in any production was to have done this, Hamilton seems appropriate. Quite frankly, there isn’t that much to choose between Trump and Clinton and I’ve no idea what I would have done had I been a voting American but on balance, I’d pick Clinton as the lesser of two evils, however charming Trump might have seemed in New York. People are behaving badly and worse on both sides of the argument so no one has the moral high ground. This instance, to me, does not compare in the slightest to the nasty protests on either side. And what do we believe when so much is being propagandised and obfuscated? This article I read yesterday has much I agree with – https://medium.com/@timoreilly/the-huffington-post-has-a-fake-news-problem-f68d8e262cec#.8a6amf4jp. (Eyes are so bad that I can’t even see my Grammarly corrections so forgive any errors! At the very least I’ve repeated myself!)

          Like

          • Adrienne Morris
            11/22/2016

            I think a curtain call speech lamenting the loss of an election done by actor who apparently didn’t vote seems silly, but totally fine–until they decide to single out an audience member attending with his daughter and nephew.

            I’m imaging Julian Assange being quite surprised that the alleged pedophilia of Hillary’s campaign manager and others in her circle exposed on wikileaks hasn’t received any press. Child trafficking “trumps” other issues for me.

            I guess we shall see what happens, but I wish for public and private debate to be more civilized (just a wish). Glad you and I can agree to disagree about theater manners. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 11/20/2016 by in Comedy, News, Quotes, Theatre and tagged , , , .
Henry Brooke

Musings, Memories and Miscellanea

Matthew Toffolo's Summary

Daily summary of the life/movie world.

When Angels Fly

Author site of S. Jackson & A. Raymond

off the leash

History, technology, books and baseball.

FLOW ART STATION

THE ENLIGHTENED ART MAGAZINE

Writer Site

Memoir, poetry, & writing theory

hungryfaces

faces gourmet world of fashion, design and art

From guestwriters

Lifestyle magazine and Readers Digest

The Vintage Toy Advertiser

Suffering ink-stained fingers and occasional staple wounds to bring you wonderful images of retro toy ads and pop culture paperworks

Sauce Box

Running my sauce box about my humorous human encounters and probably some other stuff. Enjoy!

scribblesofstageandscreen

Theatre, Film and TV.

Smart History Blog

Compelling Stories of Russian History

Newcastle Photography

Photography Blog by Chris Egon Searle

Brave and Reckless

Reclaiming my inner badass at 50

Gretchen Del Rio's Art Blog

Watercolor paintings

Today in History

"Tell me a fact, and I'll learn. Tell me a truth, and I'll believe. But tell me a story, and it will live in my heart forever." - Steve Sabol, NFL Films

The Architect & I

The Nazis assigned him a number but I wanted the world to know his name.

Basic Archaeology

Archaeology News, Interesting Facts and More

Travalanche

Being a web log for the observations of actor, author, cartoonist, comedian, critic, director, humorist, journalist, master of ceremonies, performance artist, playwright, producer, publicist, public speaker, songwriter, and variety booker Trav S.D.

1stangel.co.uk/loisbryanphotography/

LOIS BRYAN Photography and Digital Art

vixlowthion

A Green future for the Isle of Wight

TOKIDOKI (NOMAD)

a world travel photo blog by Jackie Hadel

swo8

Music means something

literatoluisrodriguez

Literatura y consejos.

Clanmother

A Backward Look Forward

CineMuseFilms

Freelance Film Critic

Christine Parker Art Blog

Sharing my paintings

DukkeHus

The Novel

Susan Brazier Illustrations

Various Illustrations both previous and ongoing.

Wolves in London

Making stuff and pootling in the garden

SophiaRileyKobacker

it's all about the story, possums...

Art Bacchant

drunk on the arts

Professional Pin-Cushion in Makeup & Mittens

Loving yourself & Living with Scleroderma!

London Wlogger

Walking blogger exploring London's hidden gems, sights and history!

Winkos: a straw bale building adventure in Poland

A journey towards a more sustainable lifestyle

nz

Online zeitung

The Elegant Mind

"The only real elegance is in the mind; if you've got that, the rest really comes from it." Diana Vreeland

National Trust Press Office

National Trust news, events and insight

penwithlit

Art, Literature, Poetry, Politics and a little History

Gemma's Journey

Culture Blogger | Theatre Lover | Follow my Journalism journey | BA Journalism Grad. 2016 @SunderlandUni | Views are my own

Robbie's inspiration

Ideas on writing and baking

